In the context of security, the user is a person who uses the computer or a network service. Generally, the user will have access to the same features as the administrator. However, if a user has different rights, he or she will be restricted to certain capabilities. The following article describes how users can modify their permissions to get the best out of the system. Here, we look at the profile, Add-on licenses, Organization-wide defaults, and Custom roles.
Profiles determine what users can do in Salesforce
The roles that users have in Salesforce are based on the level of permissions they have on objects and data. In general, user profiles can grant users access to four different actions: create, read, edit, and delete. Users can also mix and match permission levels for different parts of the system. The following sections will provide some overviews on how to set up roles for your users. Read on to learn more about these roles and the different kinds of data they can access in Salesforce.
A role determines what a user can SEE in Salesforce. This is based on the user’s position in the hierarchy. Permissions are cumulative and are granted to users as they complete tasks. Each user has a base profile, which is a prerequisite to creating any permission set. Roles can be set for different users, but each user must have at least one. Each user can have multiple permission sets, and each role is a subset of the base profile.
Add-on licenses determine what users can access
Add-on licenses control which features users can access. If users can’t access a feature, a license can prevent them from using it. For this reason, organizations should consider unassigning their user licenses. Changing the license type or adding additional users can also affect the number of available licenses. In many cases, removing a user license is a simple process. To do this, you need to go to Add-ons > Licenses Manager. Here, you can browse through all license keys and search for one. You can also change the directory and allowed domains.
To change the add-on license for a single user, navigate to the Manage add-on licenses page. Here, you’ll find information about your organization’s add-on licenses and how to make them compatible. Whether your licenses are for one product or for several products, you should carefully review the details of your current licensing. If you have more than one license, it is probably wise to change the add-on license for each product.
Organization-wide defaults determine what users can see
The Sharing Settings for your Salesforce object determine what users can see. Objects that are assigned the default permission of Private OWDs only grant access to the records of their parents, not their children. If you’re unable to grant access to the records of the users in the parent role, you can change the permission to Public. You can also change the default permission for objects in your object hierarchy. If you’re unsure whether your default permissions are set appropriately, you can modify the settings for your objects in the Sharing Settings.
Once you’ve set up your Organization-Wide Defaults, you can restrict user access to specific records. These defaults are usually the most restrictive level of access. Public read/write sharing gives all users access to any record, while private read/write allows only specific people to see and modify the records. You must explicitly grant access to the records to use other sharing methods. However, if you use public read/write sharing, all of your users will have access to the records in the organization.
Custom roles can be created
When setting up custom roles, administrators can create them in a few easy steps. First, click the Create Custom Role link and then select the user role you want to assign to the user. When defining custom roles, users inherit the default permissions of the user role they’re based on. You can even edit existing custom roles and assign them to new users. Here’s how. Once you have completed the process, your custom roles will be ready to use.
Assigning custom roles to users is as simple as editing their permissions. To create new custom roles, you can either use an existing role or copy a predefined one. Note that if you have multiple users, a custom role can only be assigned to specific users. After you’ve assigned a custom role to a user, a new row of dropdown menus will appear for you to refine the permission. By default, a user will be denied permission for certain actions. To allow an individual to view or modify the content in their space, they must explicitly grant the user permission to view that content.